Around the State

The Dallas Examiner | 3/16/2017, 1 p.m.
Two police commanders in Texas have been temporarily replaced as investigators determine who leaked police video and other material in ...

The event is free; however, registration is required. To register, visit http://www.lupus.org/lonestar.


The 2017 African American Educators Hall of Fame Program will be held April 8 at noon at the Hilton Garden Inn, located at 800 N. Main St.

“This group continues to work to ensure that this annual Education Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony sets a standard of excellence to be maintained in years to come,” said Alfred Roberts, president of the Archives and History Program.

The AAEHFP praised the African American Museum for its work in providing items for the archives, research, conducting oral history interviews and presenting 12 of the hall of fame programs.

The induction ceremony will honor Joseph T. Brew, Lois Harrison-Jones, Mildred Newton-Finch, Michele Anderson-Goady, Kathryn Mitchell, Lucious Leon Newhouse Jr., Shirley Ison-Newsome, Annie Heads-Rainwater and Jimmy V. Scales.

Contributions will be tax-exempt and can be offered “in honor of” or “in memory of” any person of choice for a minimum donation. The deadline for luncheon reservations is March 30, and the deadline for contributions is March 23. Forms are available online.

Contributions can be made payable to AAEAHP and mailed to:


P.O. Box 411091

Dallas, TX 75241.

For tickets or to support the program, call Melvin Traylor at 214-376-9673, Gwen Brantley at 972-298-6980 or Dr. Roscoe C. Smith at 972-741-8213. For more information, visit http://aaeahp.org.