Around the State

The Dallas Examiner


(AP) – Two police commanders in Texas have been temporarily replaced as investigators determine who leaked police video and other material in the controversial arrest of a Black woman and her daughters by a White Fort Worth police officer.

KXAS-TV in Dallas reports an assistant chief and deputy chief were questioned in the matter.

The Fort Worth Police Department began an internal investigation after officer William Martin’s body-camera video was leaked. Martin’s disciplinary records also were released to defense attorneys and others.

Martin responded in December to a dispute involving Jacqueline Craig, who said a neighbor had assaulted her son for littering.

Cellphone video appears to show Martin escalating the situation before he forces Craig to the ground and arrests her and then her two daughters.

Charges against Craig were later dropped.


(AP) – Top House leaders have unveiled a bipartisan bill pumping $1.6 billion extra into Texas classrooms as part of an ambitious plan overhauling how Texas pays for public education.

Sponsored by Houston Republican Rep. Dan Huberty, the bill increases per-student funding by around $200 to $5,350, while adding funding for transportation and students with dyslexia.

It was heard in Huberty’s powerful Public Education Committee Tuesday. Last summer, the Texas Supreme Court declared the school finance system barely constitutional.

The Texas Senate has expressed little interest in school finance reforms not mandated in court. Senators have instead backed a voucher plan offering public funding to students attending private schools.

Huberty said vouchers wouldn’t pass the House. That could ultimately mean neither proposal, Senate vouchers nor House school finance, becomes law.


Dallas Area Rapid Transit is teaming up with Uber, Lyft and Mothers Against Drunk Driving March 11 to make transportation to the parade and the 22nd annual St. Paddy’s Day Dash Down Greenville 5k easy and safe.

St. Patrick’s Day is one of the deadliest holidays for drunk driving, according to MADD. To ensure party goers get home safe, DART will provide additional service with Red and Orange line trains from Plano operating between 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. to Mockingbird, Lovers Lane or Park Lane stations.

From Carrollton, Farmers Branch and Dallas customers can ride the Green Line and transfer to either the Orange or Red line in downtown Dallas. Passengers riding the TRE can transfer to the Orange or special event Red Line trains to Victory Station.

Passengers who normally use Routes 502 and 583 at Lovers Lane Station will be unable to do so for much of the day Saturday. Both routes will be detoured from Lovers Lane to serve Mockingbird Station until approximately 6 p.m. or whenever Greenville is re-opened to traffic.

Route 502 will continue to serve Park Lane Station. Red and Orange Line trains to Lovers Lane will not be interrupted during the parade.

For additional details concerning service adjustments, call DART Customer Information 214-979-1111 or visit


The Lupus Foundation of American Lone Star Chapter will host it Ask the Experts: Working With Your Pharmacist Teleconference March 22 from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m. Susan Corbett, PharmD, RPh and lupus thriver, will be the presenter for the evening. Participants can learn how to manage different medications and communication with an important member of their health team, the pharmacist. There will also be information provided about various medications used to manage symptoms and tips on avoiding side effects and drug interactions.

The event is free; however, registration is required. To register, visit


The 2017 African American Educators Hall of Fame Program will be held April 8 at noon at the Hilton Garden Inn, located at 800 N. Main St.

“This group continues to work to ensure that this annual Education Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony sets a standard of excellence to be maintained in years to come,” said Alfred Roberts, president of the Archives and History Program.

The AAEHFP praised the African American Museum for its work in providing items for the archives, research, conducting oral history interviews and presenting 12 of the hall of fame programs.

The induction ceremony will honor Joseph T. Brew, Lois Harrison-Jones, Mildred Newton-Finch, Michele Anderson-Goady, Kathryn Mitchell, Lucious Leon Newhouse Jr., Shirley Ison-Newsome, Annie Heads-Rainwater and Jimmy V. Scales.

Contributions will be tax-exempt and can be offered “in honor of” or “in memory of” any person of choice for a minimum donation. The deadline for luncheon reservations is March 30, and the deadline for contributions is March 23. Forms are available online.

Contributions can be made payable to AAEAHP and mailed to:


P.O. Box 411091

Dallas, TX 75241.

For tickets or to support the program, call Melvin Traylor at 214-376-9673, Gwen Brantley at 972-298-6980 or Dr. Roscoe C. Smith at 972-741-8213. For more information, visit


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.