Cedar Hill ISD Teachers of the year


Special to The Dallas Examiner


CEDAR HILL, TEXAS – The Cedar Hill ISD Education Foundation – known as CHEF – visited 12 CHISD campuses on Monday morning to present checks to the district’s 2020-2021 Teachers of the Year.

“We are so grateful to each of our donors – large and small – who made this possible,” CHEF Executive Director Denise Root said. “This is the first year that we were able to present $200 checks to the 10 Campus Teachers of the Year who were finalists for District Teacher of the Year. Of course, the two District Teachers of the Year each received a $1,000 check.”

CHISD Superintendent Dr. Gerald Hudson visited each of the campuses, with the group, along with CHISD Board Secretary Gayle Sims and Trustees Dr. Denise Roache-Davis and Dr. Keisha Lankford, and CHEF Board Member Timothy Clifford.

“We were honored to individually congratulate each Campus Teacher of the Year,” Hudson said. “They exemplified success and perseverance during a very challenging time.”


The 2020-2021 CHISD Teachers of the Year:

District Teachers of The Year:

Ebonie Davis – Elementary at Bray Elementary School

Deldrick Burley – Secondary at Permenter Middle School


Campus Teachers of the Year:

Tiara Frazier at Waterford Oaks Elementary

Megan Rios at Plummer Elementary

Maria Rosero-Wilches at Highlands Elementary

Aaron Kennedy at Cedar Hill High School

Stephanie Burnam at Collegiate High School

Carlece Jackson at Bessie Coleman Middle School

Samantha Dunaway at Collegiate Academy

Kellie Burchfield at Collegiate Prep

Olaide Ajakaye at High Pointe Elementary

Audrey Peterbark Ross at Lake Ridge Elementary

Mollie Finch Belt is the Publisher and Chief Executive Officer of The Dallas Examiner. She attended elementary school in Tuskegee, Ala.; Cambridge, Mass.; and Dallas, Texas. In 1961, she graduated from...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *