Dallas County COVID level raised to red

Photo by Fusion Medical Animation on Unsplash

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention have set Dallas County’s COVID spread risk at high because of the increased number of infections and hospitalizations. The red level designation means the CDC recommends everyone wear masks in public and while riding public transit as well as increased testing. This is different from the yellow designation which only recommends masking indoors and additional health precautions for people who are at high risk for underlying illness.

Dallas County still has its own community spread risk listed as yellow as designated by Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins. Omicron subvariants BA.4 and BA.5 account for the majority of cases in the area according to a letter from the Dallas County Public Health Committee.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.