Rev. Stephen A. Green, chair of Faith for Black Lives –and Rev. Frederick Haynes Photo courtesy of Trice Edney Communications


Trice Edney Communications


A coalition of twenty-five faith leaders from across the nation launched Hunger Strikers for Voting Rights on the first anniversary of the insurrection, Jan. 6, to urge Congress to protect democracy by passing voting rights legislation by Martin L. King Jr. Day on Jan. 17.

Inspired by the “Big Lie,” the violent insurrection on Jan. 6, 2021 was an attempt to overturn democratic rule in the United States. This attempt continues across the nation as 19 states passed 34 laws impacting the right to vote, specifically targeting communities of color. States enacted laws to reduce early voting, restrict access to absentee ballots and seize control of non-partisan election administration official functions. In addition, extreme partisan gerrymandering threatens access to Black political representation in state and federal elections for the next decade.

“As faith leaders, we are called to speak truth to power and to raise the conscience of this nation through moral resistance,” said Rev. Stephen A. Green, chairman for Faith for Black Lives, “this hunger strike reflects our deep commitment to radical love in action to redeem the soul of this nation. As we approach midnight for our democracy, the United States Congress must act urgently to pass voting rights legislation by Martin L. King Jr. Day on Jan. 17, 2022.”


Hunger Strikers for Voting Rights

  1. Rev. Stephen A. Green, chair of Faith for Black Lives, New York City
  2. Rev. Dr. Frederick D. Haynes III, pastor of Friendship-West Baptist Church, Dallas
  3. Rev. Traci Blackmon, associate general minister of United Church of Christ, Washington, D.C.
  4. Rev. Cornell William Brooks, professor at Harvard Kennedy School and director of William Trotter Collaborative, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  5. Rev. Dr. Jamal-Harrison Bryant, pastor of New Birth Cathedral, Atlanta
  6. Rev. Dr. Otis Moss III, pastor of Trinity United Church of Christ, Chicago
  7. Rev. Dr Cassandra Gould, executive director of Faith Voices, St. Louis
  8. Rev. Dr. Lanel D. Guyton, presiding elder of Brooklyn-Westchester AME District, Brooklyn
  9. Pastor Timothy Findley Jr., pastor of Kingdom Fellowship Church, Louisville
  10. Rev Renita Green, pastor of Holy Trinity AME Church, Wilberforce, Ohio
  11. Rev. Rodrecus M. Johnson Jr., pastor of Anderson Chapel, Killeen
  12. Rev. Dr. Lenny Marshall, pastor of St. Philip AME Church, Tallahassee
  13. Rev. Derrell Wade, pastor of Macedonia AME Church, Suffolk, Virginia
  14. Rev. Dr. Caesar Roland Richburg, pastor of Bethel AME Church, Columbia, S.C.
  15. Rev. Dr. Jonathan L. Weaver, pastor of Greater Mt. Nebo AME Church, Mitchellville, Maryland
  16. Rev. Rickey C. Dennis Jr., pastor of Mt. Nebo AME, Awendaw, S.C.
  17. Rev. Redeem Robinson, community pastor of All Souls Movement, Los Angeles
  18. Rev. James Wesley Dennis III, pastor of Pine Grove AME Church, Columbia, S.C.
  19. Rev. Rashad Moore, pastor of First Baptist Church of Crown Heights, Brooklyn
  20. Rev. Dr. Roy Jones Jr., executive pastor of Saint Philip AME Church, Atlanta
  21. Rev. Devon Crawford, director of William Trotter Collaborative at Harvard Kennedy School
  22. Rev. Eugene Minson III, executive minister of St. Luke AME Church, Harlem
  23. Rev. Darien Jones, pastor of Moncks Corner AME Church, Moncks Corner, S.C.
  24. Rev. Mary Newton, pastor of Lee Memorial AME Church, Fort Washington, Maryland
  25. Prophet Bryce Graham of Anointed House of Prayer Ministries, West Palm Beach

Mollie Finch Belt is the Publisher and Chief Executive Officer of The Dallas Examiner. She attended elementary school in Tuskegee, Ala.; Cambridge, Mass.; and Dallas, Texas. In 1961, she graduated from...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *